Community Discussion with Sheriff Koutoujian

The League of Women Voters of Newton (LWVN) and co-sponsors League of Women Voters of Arlington, Norward, Sudbury, Wayland, and Weston will host a community discussion led by Middlesex Sheriff Peter J. Koutoujian. Sheriff Koutoujian will talk about the work of the Middlesex Sheriff’s Office, partnerships with local law enforcement and efforts to address the needs of justice-involved individuals with substance use and mental health disorders. He’ll also discuss innovative programs for incarcerated military veterans and young adult offenders.

RSVPs to are appreciated!

November 12th,  7:00 pm
Angier Elementary School, 1697 Beacon Street, Waban

More information: Peter J. Koutoujian has been Middlesex Sheriff since he was sworn in by former Governor Deval Patrick on January 21, 2011. In February of 2019, Koutoujian was elected as Vice President of Major County Sheriffs of America, representing sheriffs from the most populous counties in the country. Koutoujian currently serves as President of the Massachusetts Sheriffs’ Association, and is a founding member of Law Enforcement Leaders to Reduce Crime & Incarceration, a group committed to reducing rates of incarceration. He has also been recognized as a “Champion of Justice Reform” by the Coalition for Public Safety – a national bipartisan collective advancing criminal justice reform.

Prior to serving as sheriff, Koutoujian served as a state legislator holding several leadership positions, including Chairman of the Joint Committee on Financial Services and Chairman of the Joint Committee on Public Health. Additionally, he chaired the Commonwealth’s OxyContin and Other Drug Abuse Commission created in 2004. A staunch public safety advocate, Koutoujian has also led efforts around victims’ rights and suicide prevention.

A lawyer by trade, Koutoujian served as a Middlesex County prosecutor before being elected to the Massachusetts Legislature. Koutoujian is a graduate of Bridgewater State University, the New England School of Law and Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.